Fast Tracks

Model Railroading Discussion Forums

Return To The Fast Tracks Website

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:04 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Cross Junction, VA
Hi.

New to the Forum and new to hand laying track.

I'm thinking of replacing about 30 Atlas turnouts with hand built turnouts. I would be doing this over time.

Can I use Atlas Code 55 rail from flex-trac in the templates made for Micro Engineering rail?

If I have to use Micro Engineering rail, will it match with my existing Atlas rail without a lot of engineering?

Would I be better off making the turnouts over time and then replace all of the Atlas track at once with Micro Engineering rail?

Thanks in advance for your help.

_________________
Bill Bentgen
http://www.billbentgen.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 6:02 pm
Posts: 63
Location: vestal, ny
greetings and salutaitons bentgen :)
iirc, the answers to your questions are:
yes...and...yes.

you can use atlas c55 rail from flex track in the jigs.
else ME rail will mate nicely with atlas c55 rail (track)l.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Cross Junction, VA
Thanks Sam.

Guess I'll head over to the catalog section.

_________________
Bill Bentgen
http://www.billbentgen.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 6:02 pm
Posts: 63
Location: vestal, ny
bill,
if ordering a jig, do let tim (or ron?) know what rail you plan on using.
if there's minor or specific changes that need to be done,
they'll let you know...or maybe any advice in using the jig.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Cross Junction, VA
sam wrote:
bill,
if ordering a jig, do let tim (or ron?) know what rail you plan on using.
if there's minor or specific changes that need to be done,
they'll let you know...or maybe any advice in using the jig.


After staring at the wall for 10 minutes, it dawned on me that since the Micro Engineering rail matches the Atlas rail, I should probably just make the turneouts with Micro Engineering rail. I won't have to tear Atlas flextrack apart and there won't be even minor incompatibility problems with the jig. It also gives me the option of changing to the Micro Engineering weathered flextrack as I go along.

_________________
Bill Bentgen
http://www.billbentgen.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group